I started making Half Square Triangle blocks with the intention to make a lap quilt. After I had made four 24″ square parts for the quilt I knew it was not going to work. The fabrics are too wobbly flobbly.

At the same time the X-Factor pillow swap on flickr asked for pillows with a HST theme. When I was taking photo’s of the first finished pillow cover I knew it had to stay with me to brighten up the dreary grey Autumnal and Winter days. It‘s a 22″ square cover that holds a 20″ form.

I bought the striped fabrics in the early days of my LQS to make a NY Beauty quilt. How about that for some overload of self-confidence! I hardly had made any quilt at the time.

I added some almost solid triangles (Quilter’s Shadows) and used quite some starch spray, a nice 80/20 batting and a muslin backing for the front. I quilted straight (diagonal) lines with red Aurifil thread, 40 wt. It has an envelope closure of Quilters’ Shadows.

Three more to go!