You probably have seen popping up all those scrappy blocks and quilts on the internet. This tutorial by Bonnie Hunter (quiltville)  is used for the scrappy trip-along. Hundreds and hundreds of quilters are following the trip-along on flickr and instagram.

Bonnie Hunter has a special way to make the scrappy blocks. Of course I needed to try some, so I selected some of my older and/or not so lovely fabrics to cut some strips and to make a block. Hmmm, well, OK, I was sure it would become more fun after making a few, so I made another three I realized it was not really my piece of cake and the effect was not the one I had seen in so many quilts in the flickr group.

scrappy tripalong 4together

I love scrappy quilts when I see them and I wouldn’t mind to have one in the house, but I have more exciting projects to work on.


Like the Mod Pop quilt. I had been collecting charms of Amy Butler fabrics from different lines like Love, Soul Blossoms and Lark. I pinned all the squares on a piece of batting and changed the colour order untill I was really happy. That part already was a lot of fun. Than I started cutting the shapes with the templates I had bought and it went like a charm, even the machine stitching went smoothly!

My initial idea was to make one long strip and to add wide solid coloured pieces to the left and the right, but I’m so in love with how it looks that I will make more strips. Yeah! Some day!

I’ve not used so many words in a blog post in ages and let me tell you why. I have a new Apple Macbook and everything works so much faster and smoother. I can save a lot of time, reading, commenting and writing posts. The computer guy told me that my old Mac could be compared to riding a bike and the new one to driving a Ferrari! I simply can‘t believe I got anything done on my 9,5-year-old Mac at all!

Oh happy days!