During the Double Dutch Spring sew-in we made a sampler quilt-top for a charity cause and had so much fun putting the blocks and pieces of fabric in different sizes together, that the idea was born to start a Double Dutch Sampler quilt-along. Every month or so one of the Double Dutch quilters will post instructions for a block for the Sampler quilt. I initially jumped in, but stepped back a little later, as I have too much on my plate already at the moment. Maybe I will join the gang later this year.

DoubleDutch houses

As my quilting time is a bit limited lately, I love to work on a (small) block every now and then. After seeing Lotje’s house block I collected all the hand printed fabric I had on hand. They are from Maze & Vale, Ink & Spindle and some are Japanese linen fabrics from Etsy shops and some are scraps I received from quilt friends.

sq in sq DD Sampler QAL

I also made 2 square in a square blocks (which are often called Economy blocks lately – that name refers to a block in the Farmer’s Wife Quilt).

If you like you can join the Double Dutch Sampler quilt-along on Flickr. Lotje posted the instructions for the house block on here.

Enjoy your weekend!